Koni Yellow Questions on a budget

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Koni Yellow Questions on a budget

OK man, I'm a poor college student and my springs (sprint) and struts (kyb gr2) on my s14 are both shot (front sags so it has like no travel and bottoms out all the time.

so obviously there is no way i can afford 86xx setup right now. So what im thinking of doing is starting simple and working my way up to more complexity each summer (summer is when i make real money).

So to start this journey i want to get koni yellows front and rear. for the front i hope to be able to cut the internals out of my gr2 housings in order to put the koni insert inside. Will the Koni's fit in here, or do they ONLY fit in OEM struts? I'm sure I could get someones blown oem struts for cheap enough if they wont fit in my KYB's

Then I need a set of springs. Again being cheap and just starting out this project I thought I should get some sort of lower spring, because its only a couple hundred (or less if i find some used ones to hold me over) and I can run them for a year, then next summer upgrade to ground controls. problem is I don't really know what springs would be good. My current sprint springs supposedly had 1.8" of drop front and rear, and before the fronts got worn out I liked the height of the car.

Finally I need to get some sort of front upper mount that will fit yellows because my car doesnt have enough camber right now.

Again, i'd like to try and buy stuff that i'll be able to continue to use as i upgrade. Hopefully I can keep the cost under 1000 to begin with. But really i have to do something because of the horrible condition of my current setup

Any suggestions or help about what to do would be great. Even after searching and reading a bunch on this forum, i haven't been able to piece together too much info about yellows.

Sorry I hadn't responded to your PM yet. Measure the GR2 and shoot me a PM, but I would imagine they should work just fine.