No announcement yet.

Koni Sport Front Inserts in KYB GR-2's?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Koni Sport Front Inserts in KYB GR-2's?

Well a little briefing on my little situation here, I'm a student in AZ, but from HI (Hawaii) where my car is. I went back recently for X-Mas/New Years and I went to install my Koni/Tanabe GF210 Spring/Strut Combo. Well it turned out that the GR2's seemed to be a little too tight a squeeze unless I didnt do something that was required w/ the GR2's or something special. All in all, when I was done, the Koni still sat a good 3/4" - 1" from the bottom of the housing which then left me bottoming out if I hit a bump too fast. I tried to cancel that out by Making the strut stiffer but that didnt do much.

My question is, did I do something wrong or missing somethign that was suppose to be done to the GR2's? Or is it known that the GR-2's are too small for the Koni Inserts?
    BTW if it makes any Diff this was done on an S14...

So it was 1 in from the bottom, I'm assuming it was never bolted to the strut body. You drove it like that?

Comment

No, I used a longer bolt, drove it home and left it like that...

Comment

I try to only use the Nissan OEM dampers to slip the OTS Koni's into. Even those can vary quite a bit depending which year/month/etc that they came off of. I just mic them, and most work...but some don't.
        Between rides...unless you count a WD21...

Comment

Yeah I kinda jumped in head first with this one, and all went well till about the strut going down half way and it got a little tight but I figured it was because those little tabs the Koni's have at the bottom to give it a nice snug fit I guess and it just never made it to the bottom. I plan to pick up some OEM blown struts when I get back and fixing that...

Comment

Originally posted by KA240SX808 View Post