Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• s13 Build questions

Hi NRR guru's,

I am looking to pull the blown KA24 in my 1989 S13. This car is a track only car and was used for SCCA in ITA class. Looking to donate the car to my endurance team to run it in AER. This is a weekend race series that runs 1 day of practice on fridays and two 9 hours days on saturday and sunday. As I have an E46M3 for sprint racing this one is sitting in my garage and I want to get it back on the track.

Car has the following:
    blown KA24 motor
    Short throw shifter
    Tomai Diff
    Ebach spring and coilovers
    New fire suppression
    new belts
    2 sets panasport rims with 1 set hosiers and one set of toyo proxies
    2015 SCCA logbook

Here is what I am looking to do (I am not a Nissan expert in any way)
    Pull the KA24 motor and replace with a redtop SR20DET and build it for about 300-350 hp (would like to be right at 350HP). This will make this car a non momentum car and I feel will be fun for the series.

Questions for all you experts:

Reliability
    Cost
    Motor build, how far to go?

I know I can drop in the red top with minimal changes to the harness , ect. that part is easy.

Based on my reading it appears the 350 hp mark is very easy for these motors, now to make it last. Heat is an issue (as always). Looking to keep the costs down as this is not a build where money is no object. It looks like I can pickup a motor for about 2500 bucks (Osaka imports in Canada) then I would need to go through it.

I am sure someone has already done this so I am not looking to reinvent the wheel.

What say you experts ?

-M