Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

This guy claims to be making a subframe for S chassi?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• This guy claims to be making a subframe for S chassi?

http://www.pdv-motorsports.com/index.htm

I don't know how I ran across the link but he is an FSAE guy, and built a few things here n there it seems but he also mentions subframe in the works 'to die for'?? lol... random find...
    "hexa-dodecahedron-triple-threaded-super-eleventy-way-adjustment-spec" dampers. -Def

Ha its not that random, thats me and yes I have plans for a new subframe. 20 credits and Senior design aren't going to allow it until I have my degree in hand though.
    -Ryan

Comment

oooh okay lol! Yeah I was googling for stuff and ran across it hehe. Cool cool.
      "hexa-dodecahedron-triple-threaded-super-eleventy-way-adjustment-spec" dampers. -Def

Comment

is there really a need to change out the factory subframe?
        NASA HPDE Instructor

Comment

Half the stuff I'm doing or going to do, I do just because I can and its what I enjoy. In the end though I'll have a lot more freedom with the suspension design, I've already ballpark quantified the weight savings, and it should increase torsional rigidity.
          -Ryan

Comment

Rear subframe? I've never taken my front subframe all the way off, but I wonder how heavy that piece is. Seems that would be a pretty easy one to replace and drop weight off the front end of the car.
            '18 Chevrolet Volt - Electric fun hatch for DD duty!

DefSport Koni Sleeve and Spring Perch Buy!!!
            http://www.nissanroadracing.com/showthread.php?t=5902

Comment

I've got the front crossmember off and its not that heavy. It can easily be replaced with a new design to lower the engine but I'm hesitant on a street driven car because of the lowest point of the tranny.
              -Ryan

Comment

The rear subframe is a good 100lbs easily... it's a workout to carry.

Comment