Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

In the middle of a PS rack swap and have a few ???

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• In the middle of a PS rack swap and have a few ???

I'm swapping my rack out and its my first time doing it. I have a few simple questions that have come up as I am working on it.

1) should I thread lock the 4 bolts that hold the steering rack in place?

2) when trying to reconnect the steering column, I grant get the sleeve back on the gear thing. I think the issue is that the sleeve was bolted really tight and no doesn't open wide enough to get it back on, I have tried to head it with a torch and pry it open but can't seem to get it open. To get it off, I actually had to pull the rack out and use the weight of the rack to pull it free from the sleeve. Any advice on how I can get it back on?

I have to hammer a screwdriver to spread the gap. Then I take a piece of pipe 2' to 3' long and about 1" diameter, rest one end on the top of the sleeve and hammer the other end. Take a few wacks, rotate the steering wheel, and repeat.

Comment

Honestly, I've tried that. I heated the entire sleeve up until it was too hot to touch, then jammed it in place with a pry bar before trying to spread it with a hammer and chisel... :S

I also tried just getting it on the way it is by doing exactly that, pinched a pry bar in there and hammered down on it. It only go into the first ring of gearing, which doesn't seem like enough.

Comment

When mine sticks on the first set of splines, I apply more hammer force or rotate the steering wheel. I may regret that one day in the form of smashing into something, but it gets it on.

If it makes it down the first set of splines, you shouldn't have to worry about stripping the 2nd. Usually when mine stops on the 1st set it is going on at an angle, hence rotating the wheel to get to the other side of the sleeve..

Comment