ducting for the S13 radiator

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ducting for the S13 radiator

Since this doesn't come up to much, I thought I'd just post up some pre/post pictures of some basic ducting on the front of my 240. This is my first time doing this, and need to do a bit more for blocking the sides between the radiator/intercooler... maybe tomorrow once I have some material to work with.

Pre ducting...

Passanger side, there's a nice big gap there.

Looking down between the radiator and IC... more ways for the air to go.

Not really having time to go shopping for material, I'm using what I have around the garage and will plan on getting some thin-gauged sheet metal tomorrow for what I have mocked up with cardboard.

From work, a very dense foam that doesn't have much give, but does cut well with a saw blade.

After spending some time measuring, cutting, and repeating multiple times I got the sides pretty well blocked off and the foam is not going anywhere.

Passanger side, it took alot of effort to get the foam into place.

Driver side. (looks hacked together... it is)

The lower one was pretty easy to do with cardboard and should be just as easy when I get some metal to cut/bend.
    Last edited by McCoy; 08-01-2008, 10:51 PM.
    -Monty

Got alittle more done today.

A trip to the local ACE for some rolled up sheet metal... or whatever they call it.

I used the cardboard piece as a template. Basic tools being just tin snips, gloves, straight edge, and some pliers to assist in small bends where needed.

And the mostly finished product...

next will be a little ducting on the sides... between the IC and radiator. Maybe tonight if I have time.
    Last edited by McCoy; 08-02-2008, 05:13 PM.
    -Monty

Comment

Good stuff, Monty. I will probably be doing some in the off-season with a gigantor sheet of aluminum I bought a year ago.