Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Haven't had car out in 2 and 1/2 years, what do I need to do?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Haven't had car out in 2 and 1/2 years, what do I need to do?

When I got my WRX in November of 2010 my 240s daily driver days were over, and I put it away planning to get it out the next summer and start working on finally getting it converted to my dream track car. **LONG** story short, 2 years later I'm finally getting it out, and need to know what I should tackle to get the car going again...

I've got no experience doing restorations or anything like that, and I want to make sure I don't screw anything up, so here is what I've got lined up:

- Change oil
    - Change spark plugs
    - Change air filter
    - New battery
    - Generally go through and clean things up

- Fuel stuff I'm really in a bind, I put it away with a fresh tank of gas with stabil in it, but that was 29 months ago, I have some people telling me it should be fine, some telling me I may have to change fuel filter and possibly cause the pump some issues but try it anyways, and of course the real safe bet would be to drain the gas that's in it and start with fresh. Problem I'm having there is finding a way to dispose of 14 gallons of questionable gas.

SO...anybody with experience with this stuff want to give me some input on the gas situation? And anything else in general I should be looking into? This is just to get the car running and driving without screwing anything up more than it already is for now, things that I know are going to be questionable like gaskets and bushings will be addressed accordingly.

I miss these cars.
    '06 wrx - DD

'89 s13 hatch - jackstand racing national champion

Check all the other fluids to make sure they're full, change the oil, charge/replace the battery, and start it up.