Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• S15 Differential Rebuild/Check

Hey guys,

I recently bought a complete S15 diff that made a bunch of racket when installed. It spun freely between the input shaft and outputs but seemed to behave as if it the outputs were locked on the inside.

I pulled it apart and haven't found anything obviously wrong with it. The factory S15 service manual does not seem to approach dissasembly/reassembly or contain any sort of specifications to check for the helical diff (it has everything for the viscous unit).

Is there any factory (or other) guidance for reassembly or checking? Any advice is appreciated.

Cheers

Images always help!

Comment

Though I have no experience with an S15 hlsd, I can say that's how my quaife HSLD acts. I wouldn't be too worried about it, especially since you already took it apart to find nothing wrong.

Comment

That's because that's not a stock S15 hlsd. That looks like an aftermarket 2 way Salisbury/clutch type diff. It is naturally going to be loud an clunk when you turn at low speed.

Take more pictures of the overall unit and the cross pin in the ramps and maybe we can identify the brand and type of diff.
        '18 Chevrolet Volt - Electric fun hatch for DD duty!

DefSport Koni Sleeve and Spring Perch Buy!!!
        http://www.nissanroadracing.com/showthread.php?t=5902

Comment

Originally posted by Def View Post
          That's because that's not a stock S15 hlsd. That looks like an aftermarket 2 way Salisbury/clutch type diff. It is naturally going to be loud an clunk when you turn at low speed.

Take more pictures of the overall unit and the cross pin in the ramps and maybe we can identify the brand and type of diff.
          I have to say the clutch plates threw me way off, but I've had zero experience with these things so I had no idea. Great to confirm this isn't stock, but having high hopes for running a helical unit street/track, I'm bummed.