Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Building a scratch wiring harness, help... (S13 hatch)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Building a scratch wiring harness, help... (S13 hatch)

Alright, so I can build milspec harnesses, and my buddy has built even better ones and is coming out from mass to help me in a couple weeks. I need to get my supplies in order to build this. Due to the questionable nature of my oem wiring, I would like to go through and replace absolutely every bit of wiring. Obviously I would be removing any circuits I didnt need, but keeping and reworking the ones I did. I dont have the harness pulled yet, so I am just beginning brainstorming on the project. I also work for a company that designs and builds aircraft components, so milspec connectors and wiring should be able to be purchased on the cheaper end of the spectrum. right now i havnt decided whether or not to go with reworked breakers, fuses, and relays, or just stick with the oem boxes.

questions:
    1. anyone fiddled with the s chassis harness and have any advice?

2. what sorta total length in wiring should i expect. 1000ft of milspec wiring is pretty cheap, like $240 from pegasus.

3. any idea how many chassis connectors are in the car? I know its absurd but if i can buy in bulk instead of individually, that would help.

4. lastly, what range of wiring size is used on the oem harness? whats the largest and smallest size gauge i would expect, not counting battery (that Ill be running big)

Like i've said, I am just working on the idea right now. If given tons of time, i would be a little more relaxed on it, but my friend is traveling from mass to help for a couple weeks and he said he would like to see the car running by the end of the stay or he would feel like a failure (ha!).

thanks.

Good luck. I have zero electrical knowledge so I am now on harness attempt #2, LoL!
    Originally posted by Matt93SE