ball joint spacers - ackerman changes

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ball joint spacers - ackerman changes

So I'm looking into my options for roll center correction but I do not want to add any ackerman (I'm actually trying to reduce it as much as possible, but that's another topic). I'm not an expert on this, so please correct me where I go off...

Now all the ackerman examples I've ever seen show a top view with the steering axis as a simple point (representing a vertical axis) making it very easy to draw a line through the ball joint and tie rod joint to get an idea of the ackerman percentage. However here, in the real world, we have a steering axis that is inclined so things seem to get complicated. In my searching I ran across this picture on zilvia:

This picture shows the problem with running lower ball joint spacers. However, to me it seems over exaggerated. The picture seems to suggest that the upright pivots about the ball joint on an axis parallel to the tie rod end. But it should actually pivot around the steering axis, which is draw through the lower ball joint and the strut top, right? So the critical dimension should be the perpendicular distance from the steering axis to the tie rod end.

This distance IS changed by spacing the lower ball joint because as it moves toward the outside of the car, the steering axis changes. (Makes me wonder what other effects on suspension geometry this has - scrub radius, bump steer, ect) But I expect the axis movement to be fairly small since the vertical seperation between the ball joint and the strut top is much greater than the horizontal shift of the ball joint.

I have not gotten too familiar with the underside of my 240 (yet) but the steering axis isn't as steep as the lower ball joint angle right? Why did nissan put this angle here in the first place?