Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Manual seatbelt swap

More n00b questions from me (no. way).

I am thinking that I'm going to finally replace my automatic seatbelts in my s13, and wondering about the safety of using the longer bolts + spacers/washers that seems to be the preferred method of bolting in the pivot.

This is the hardware

So it looks like this:

Is this safe? Dangerous the have that much spacer?

Dumb questions, but I figure more engineer types here that I trust.

im not a engineer type (yet), but my gut tells me that would work. I would think the forces that your body would exert on that seat belt in a crash would not even come close to exceeding the limits of that bolt. doesnt a grade 8 bolt have somewhere in the neighborhood of 20,000 lbs shear strength?

I dont have the internal plastics on my car, so i just used the stock bolt from that location to mount my pivot.

The thing i would be more worried about is to properly mount the bottom (where the reel is). I had to build a metal bracket to extend the reels bolt holes in order to mount it in a manner i felt was "safe", but even now it could be safer imo, i have added another bolt and piviot location where none was before.
    1992 LS13
    385whp/370tq

Comment

I agree. Grade 8 bolt and a good amount of threads used to secure it is all you need.

Comment

I learned something when looking for hardware to swap seatbelts. Metric cars use M11x1.25 and SAE cars use 7/16" fine thread bolts. The interesting thing is that they're close enough to interchange so if you can't find the metric version you can use the SAE versions.
        Don Johnson (really!)
        Just so you know.

Comment

Seems like that bolt would see shear stress from some portion of the load being in the radial direction (perpendicular to the long axis). Making it longer increases the moment arm length and thus the stress. Jacob is more versed in than I and would be better-equipped to answer.