Steering rack bushing issue.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Steering rack bushing issue.

On the way back form the autocross yesterday my steering felt wired, it had some "play" in it. When I got home I got under the car and found out that my steering rack is lose.

The Steering rack has room to move around close to the passenger side, where the bushing/mounting bracket is located. I checked the bolts for the mounting bracket and they are not lose. To me it seems like the ES bushing is not big enough but I cant figure out why I didn't have this issue earlier if the bushing is not big enough. (I have been running the ES bushings for almost 3 months)

The car is a 91 240sx coupe (non-hicas) and I have installed the ES master bushing kit.
    I will post some pictures asap.

I use the black ES bushings with no issues on my rack.
    '18 Chevrolet Volt - Electric fun hatch for DD duty!

DefSport Koni Sleeve and Spring Perch Buy!!!
    http://www.nissanroadracing.com/showthread.php?t=5902

Comment

Pictures.

Comment

Looks like you're S14?
        Maybe you installed the S13 bushing, should is larger?

Comment

Originally posted by DuckyD View Post
          Looks like you're S14?
          Maybe you installed the S13 bushing, should is larger?

My car is a S13 and I installed a S13 bushing kit. This started after the autocross yesterday and I have done 2 autocross events since I installed the bushings. My co-driver spun the car and hit full lock on the steering kinda hard, I am not sure if that damaged something causing this problem.

Would it be a bad idea to get a rubber hose with a similar I.D. as the O.D. of the rack and put the bushing over the hose...?

Comment

Kinda hard to tell with all that grime in there - but is there a noticeable gap around the bushing?

Not sure what the deal is, but my passenger side ES bushing is tight, the driver's side is really tight - you have to crank down the bolts to squeeze the bracket over it.